Seaman Cooper

Seaman Cooper was a flamboyantly gay radioman at NAVFAC Guam in the 1990’s. One day, chatting at the officer’s club, my CO made quite clear her intent to get him discharged. Which I thought was the silliest thing. He’d gone through basic training at considerable cost to the U.S. taxpayer, been shipped to Guam at more expense, and was okay at his job. But she wanted him out because he was gay. Meanwhile, under her command, the facility master chief had been sleeping with several young sailors (the biggest hazard to young female enlisted sailors was, in my day, the senior male sailors. That may have changed by now, but I doubt it.)

Anyway, I was thinking of him when I answered questions over in this interview: Sandra at The Outer Alliance. Thank you to Julia for inviting me.

One thought on “Seaman Cooper

Leave a Reply

